Dragons vs. Ashford Town CC, 2013

Dragons Cricket Club > 2013 Match Reports  > Dragons vs. Ashford Town CC, 2013

Dragons vs. Ashford Town CC, 2013

Dragons Win by 172 Runs.

Tuesday of Tour began with the now traditional Dragons vs. Sausages golfing contest, hotly fought around the Weald of Kent’s challenging 18 holes. The non-golfers amongst us enjoyed breakfast whilst watching the respective four balls hacking down the 9th fairway, with the usual anticipation of some poor sod plonking one in the water hazard.

Tim Golds happily obliged with a double whammy, first over hitting his approach shot into the far bunker, before thinning his rescue attempt back across the green and into the wet stuff. Chapeau!

After the Dragons successfully won the golf we made our way via a somewhat unusual route to the scenic Steeds Park for the annual fixture with Ashford. Having won the toss, skipper Wade decided to bat, a decision he soon regretted when the Dragons found themselves 23-2 and in a degree of trouble. He need not have worried, as Jamie Churchman and Peter Abrahams proceeded to add 227 for the third wicket. Jamie Churchman was eventually dismissed caught and bowled for a magnificent 127 but was replaced by Cleton Payne who added yet more pain to Ashford’s afternoon by hammering 41 runs off rather less deliveries.
The Dragons innings closed on a mighty 283 for 3, with Peter Abrahams finishing 101 not out.

In reply, much rested on Liam Tegg scoring his usual hundred, a plan left in tatters when Charlie Farrant removed both Tegg and fellow opener Andrews for 8 and 4 respectively. Sam Peters then rearranged the Ashford No.3’s stumps and in doing so killed off the Ashford run chase. Tegg senior made a less than electric 50 (albeit rather useful as he organises the fixture each year) but beyond that the Ashford innings never really got going and they closed on 150-8 off their 40 overs with the Dragons crowds long gone.

Simon Wade

Bowling: S Peters (3-2-8-1) C Farrant (4-0-9-2) P Abraham (6-0-21-2)
Batting: P Abraham (101 not out) J Churchman (127) C Payne (41 not out)